Instant Laksa from T&T Supermarket

September 8th, 2012.  T&T Finds 🙂

t&t supermarket haul
t&t supermarket haul

 

 

T&T is full of diverse and interesting Asian yummies and I’ve really taken to shopping there, especially for some delicious Chinese BBQ duck and pork 🙂  But lately I’ve been craving Tom Yum and Laksa and while perusing the aisles I came upon this instant laksa.

t&t supermarket haul
t&t supermarket haul

 

 

 

 

Sure, sure, I know instant food is never what the real thing is like, but I couldn’t help being curious how they’d put such a complex, layered dish into a small instant package like this.

t&t supermarket haul
t&t supermarket haul

 

 

I added some Chinese sausage to mine as well, as you can see. The noodles were a good texture and taste, and surprisingly the soup was not thin and bland.  It had a nice creaminess to it from the “coconut milk” packet and a strong seafood flavor coming through along with a little hint of spicy heat.  Obviously it would be better with fresh veggies, aromatics and seafood, but as a quick laksa base I’d say it’s not half bad 🙂

Leave a comment