Chronic Tacos (New West)

February 19, 2013

May 1st, 2012. Chronic Tacos

chronic tacos (new west)

chronic tacos (new west)

 

 

 

A Chronic Tacos in New West?? So close to me??  I’m there!!  All day I planned to zip by here for some eats after work before zipping out to Langley for Lifegroup at Carmi & Evangel’s.  Despite a very crazy-random hiccup (my boss’s car ran out of gas on the Port Mann bridge on the way to his son’s baseball practice and I had to deliver fuel to him) my unbending dedication to tacos had me heading back in the opposition direction as fast as possible to beat the clock while not driving illegally!  Yes, that’s how much I love tacos.

chronic tacos (new west)

chronic tacos (new west)

 

 

 

A joint made popular in California and spread to Vancouver this one in New West was the newest location to open and I had to give it a try.  Looking at the menu I was a little surprised with how steep the prices are and had to do some mental contemplation on how to make the most of this meal.

chronic tacos (new west)

chronic tacos (new west)

 

I ended up getting a taco AND a torta!  For the taco I went with the Al Pastor (spicy marinated pork with pineapple and onion).  The slight sweetness from the pineapple was not very prominent and I would have liked some more heat, but the salsa verde and the cilantro and onions I added on brought more flavor and added some juice.  I thought the taco was a little dry.

chronic tacos (new west)

chronic tacos (new west)

 

 

 

 

Mmmm..there’s nothing quite as lovely as the vibtrant colors of a good taco 😉

chronic tacos (new west)

chronic tacos (new west)

 

 

 

 

Last time I had a torta was in NYC….and since I have been in NEED of a good torta!  I got the Carnitas Torta.  Look at the size of that!!  I made sure to get lots of limes so I could load up as I go 😉  And I was prepared to take what I couldn’t finish of this sandwich home with me.  Bonus snack!!

chronic tacos (new west)

chronic tacos (new west)

 

 

Mmmmmmmmm~~~ fried bread goodness, creeeeaaaaammmmmy avocado/guacamole, substantial amount of slow cooked pork, refried beans and a whack of salsa rojo and salsa verde.  It was not quite as moist as I would have liked, but it was still darn delicious 🙂  For a taco place in New West I’d give this torta another go round for sure!

Leave a Reply

