Five Guys Burgers

January 24, 2013

April 2nd, 2012. Five Guys (White Rock)

five guys (white rock)

five guys (white rock)

 

 

Well, my boss wanted to know about Five Guys.  Apparantly he had heard about “tht burger place that President Obama likes”.  I told him there’s one in White Rock.  He said, “Let’s go!!!”.  Ummm…what about work?  But he was already turning the car around..so….burgers it is.

five guys (white rock)

five guys (white rock)

 

 

 

 

 

 

The space itself is pretty sparse.  Really just a “grab your burer and go” type of deal.  The peanuts are a nice character trait and it’s cool that you essentially get to build your own burger and watch them make it right before your eyes.

five guys (white rock)

five guys (white rock)

 

 

 

 

 

 

After a bit of hemming and hawing I was ready to place my order.  I didn’t want to over-complicate things, so I tried to be as simple as possible.  Lettuce, jalapeno peppers carmelized onions, bacon and cheese.  Really a very classic combination.

 

five guys (white rock)

five guys (white rock)

 

 

 

 

 

The darn after-work taffic didn’t help the long-ish drive back home.  I had to pop the burger and the fries in the oven for a bit when I finally got home.

five guys (white rock)

five guys (white rock)

 

 

 

 

I made my own curried aioli for fries-dipping.  Honestly, the fries were bland, not crispy and dry.  The burger also wasn’t super-wow.  Hefty?  Yes.  Dripping with goodness?  Not so much.  Maybe it’s better to eat it right on the spot?  Still…..I don’t think I’d go out of my way to go back.

Leave a Reply

