Guu Otokomae Gastown

December 27, 2011

July 18th, 2011.  Guu Otokomae Gastown Reunion~~  

 

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

  I love my childhood friends.  So many amazing memories, innocent friendships and fearless adventures.  Thank goodness for Facebook for keeping me in touch with friends from even 20 years ago!! 

  A few years back I had unexpectedly run into my childhood BFF, “Namoo Bark”‘s kid-sister, Michelle in New Orleans…Small world!!  We kept in touch since and she contacted me that she would be visiting Vancouver with a friend this summer so of course I set aside a day to meet up.  

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

  I wondered where I should take her that would best show off Vancouver’s creative food scene without breaking the bank.  My choice?  Guu Otokomae Gastown!  I love the Izakaya scene here in Vancouver and Guu shows it off so well with it’s cozy interiors, delicious foods and creative combinations.  Oh..and my ulterior motive?  Last time I came my camera died so no photos…I had to redeem myself!

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Who doesn’t love a fun summer drink?  I ordered the Virgin Pineapple Mojito:  Mint, lime, pineapple juice and ramune.

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Despite reservations about ordering a hard-to-execute dish I ordered the Sho Lon Bo, aka Soup Dumplings.  Well, I like that they were the perfect bite size.  But the disappointment was that there wasn’t enough soup inside and the skin was slightly thick.

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

 

 

  Today’s Sashimi Salad: today was an assortment of fresh scallops, salmon and hamachi over a bed of greens with Guuuu’d dressing and wasabi mayo.  Delicious at every bite!  The greens and light dressing cut the fattiness of the sashimi and the wasabi may gives a nice kick of flavor!

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

 

 

  The Maguro With 5 Color Sauce looked too cool not to order!  Chopped tuna and avocado with teriyaki, wasabi, mango, cucmber and yuzu pepper sauce topped with green onions, crispy wonton and bean sprouts.  LOVE IT!  The tuna and avocado is creamy and even though there are so many different sauces none of it is heavy to compete with the creaminess.  The toppings give the perfect crispy and crunch.  The dish was so good that we even dipped our fingers in the sauce to not waste it…hahaha!! 

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

 

 

 

  How can you not love Takoyaki?  It’s dressed with tonkatsu sauce, wasabi mayo and mustard mayo.  Piping hot, beautifully fluffy and deliciously saucy!

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

 

 

 

 

  I love me some Guu Tataki   Seared beef sashimi with ponzu sauce topped with garlic chips and green onions.  Tender beef, light ponzu sauce to highlight the beef and come on..who can resist garlic chips!  Another great dish.

guu otokomae gastown

guu otokomae gastown

 

 

 

  Lastly, we ordered the Satoimo.  Deep fried taro potatos with green tea salt.  They came out super hot..great!  The taro is a bit lumpy, fiberous, and plain.  But with the green tea salt…perfect seasoning!!  Burning fingers, burning mouth, but another great finger food dish!

 

 

Well, we were extremely full, very happy, and everyone was quite happy that the meal split 3 ways was so cheap.  SCORE on all counts!!  I swear, Guu never disappoints 😉

 

Leave a Reply

