L’Abattoir – Gastown

December 20, 2011

June 13th, 2011.  Light Dinner at L’Abattoir

l'abattoir

l'abattoir

 

 

 

  I’d had my eye on this place since it had opened last year, but what with my unexpected traipsing away to NYC and just being busy I hadn’t gotten the chance to swing by. 

l'abattoir

l'abattoir

 

 

 

  Well, what with how dismal game 6 of the Stanley Cup finals between the Canucks and the Bruins was going we decided to bail out early and just grab a bite to eat.  We had wandered into Gastown and had come to a unanimous decision to eat French, so it was just a matter of narrowing it down to a restaurant.  In the end, L’Abattoir won!

l'abattoir

l'abattoir

 

 

 

 

  Located next to Cork & Fin in front of Blood Alley, this little restaurant boasts exposed brick walls, wooden tables, 2 levels and much more.  I liked it as soon as I walked in!

l'abattoir

l'abattoir

  

 

 

 

 

  Loving the bread basket!  Bacon Brioche, Anchovy Twists and Sesame Crisps.  Savory, fresh, flavorful and just downright yummy!  I wanted to take an order home with me~!!

l'abattoir

l'abattoir

 

 

  For my main I ordered the Scallops and Oxtail Dumplings served with beech mushrooms, asian pear and spiced jus.  The scallops were deliciously tender on the inside with a perfect slightly crisp sear on the top and bottom.  I hadn’t thought the dumplings were going to be deepfried..and they were fried to a crisp that you couldn’t even taste the oxtail…I felt the pear was delicious but competed in flavor with the salty jus..just didn’t mesh.  I mean, I didn’t dislike the dish, but not everything went with each other.  Just a “meh”.

 

  Overall, I love the space, the service is great and the bread basket is impressive.  The food is nice but not always cohesive and the portions seem a bit small in proportion to the price.  However, we all enjoyed ourselves, so I think I would come back..maybe for lunch or brunch, though.

Leave a Reply

