Richmond Night Market

June 12th, 2011.  Richmond Night Market!!

richmond night market
richmond night market

    Of the highlights of summer in Vancouver are the various night markets.  Of those the Richmond Night Market is probably the most popular.  With tons of stalls with cheap “made in China” merchandise on one half and a vast plethora of Asian eats on the other half, RNM is totally worth the drive!

  Eunice, Henry & I wanted to make as many memories as siblings together before he went off to school in Seattle, so we made an effort to go spend an evening together.  Exciting!!

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

  Giant Turkey Drumsticks on the grill!!  My sister and I are huge fans of turkey.  Turkey just brings up these nostalgic, festive feelings that we both love to go back to any time of the year.  Sadly, we didn’t get to try these this time around, but we were pretty happy just seeing something that warms our hearts so much!

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

 

 

  We love Dim SumBubble Tea!!!  There are many dim sum stalls, so it’s really about who’s got the better deal or the better looking items.  I love the Sui Mai and Har Gow and my bubble tea was so nice and refreshing!!  I got the Peach Green Tea.

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

 

 

 

 

  I was recommended to try the Giant Sweet Corn.  I got one slathered with butter and a Cajun seasoning and left it with Henry while I got in line for the Hurricane Potatoes.  You know how delicious it is?  So delicious that by the time Eunice and I got back to our patch of the table it was all gone…!!   Henry sheepishly said “I couldn’t help it..it was really good…!”  Luckily I had one bite in the beginning.  Sweet, juicy goodness!!!  Yum!!!

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Thai Satays.  I got 1 pork, 1 beef and 1 chicken.  I got pretty lucky because these were not over-cooked.  I only wished the satay sauce on it could have been stronger.  Still pretty good, so I went back for more! 

 

 

 

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

 

 

 

  I swear.  Every year the Hurricane Potato stand has the longest line and it takes FOREVER to get a hold of one!  Those darn Koreans sure know how to come up with a home-run product.  They stick a potato on a stick and somehow cut it so that it slices into a string of chips.  They then coat it with thin batter and deep fry it and then coat it with your choice of flavor and then drizzle ketchup.  Mmmmm~~ Mmmm good!

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

 

 

 

 

  Say what you will, but I love the little savory puff balls with bits of octopus inside that is Takoyaki!!  I always can’t wait long enough and end up burning the inside of my mouth…but I still love it!!  With plenty of bonito flakes and mayo & takoyaki sauce on top this one is always a treat! 

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

 

 

 

 

 

   Japanese Yam Fries.  Nothing spectacular…but the mayo and nori topping really just makes it so delicious and yummy!  Plus it’s easy to eat while walking around!

richmond night market
richmond night market

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Japanese Onion Rings with Wasabi Mayo….Delicious!!!!  Piping hot, crunchy exterior coating and super creamy mayo.  Soooooo~~~~ yum!!!

 

 

 

 

 

  We were sooooooo full by the end of the evening!!   We got some fun little souvenirs, had tons of fun and ate til we dropped!!

Leave a Reply

