Famoso Neopolitan Pizzeria – Edmonton, AB

May 27th, 2011. Delicious Pizza in Edmonton!

famoso neopolitan pizzeria
famoso neopolitan pizzeria

 

 

  I made a stopover for a weekend in Edmonton before heading into Vancouver.  I figured I desereved a mini vacation before getting back into real life and I also wanted to spend some time with Nabil since I’d never really been able to support him in his military career for the last couple years.

famoso neopolitan pizzeria
famoso neopolitan pizzeria

 

 

 

 

 

  He planned for us to have dinner at Famoso Neopolitan Pizzeria, which he claimed to be the best pizza in Edmonton.  Well, I love pizza..so I’ll be the judge of that!  The huge wood-fired bell oven fills the space with an incredibley delicious warmth and aroma of fresh baked dough layered with fresh tomato sauce, meats, herbs, etc.  What a wonderful welcome!  I was in love as soon as I walked in…Let the eating begin!!

famoso neopolitan pizzeria
famoso neopolitan pizzeria

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  They have gelato up at the front of the restaurant..and as soon as I saw it I knew I had to have an Italian float!!  San Pellegrino Limonata and Green Tea Gelato.

famoso neopolitan pizzeria
famoso neopolitan pizzeria

 

 

 

 

 

  Started off with an appetizer of Roasted Kalamata Olives.  Marinated, oven-roasted olives with oregano, feta and spicy olive oil serrved with traingles of toasty bread.  I loooooove olives!! And these were the perfect balance of salty and briney with the great fresh pat of feta.  The spicy olive oil made it even more yummy! 

famoso neopolitan pizzeria
famoso neopolitan pizzeria

 

  We chose..okay, let me backtrack, I chose (hahaha!) the Siciliana.  Italian sausage, Italian ham and baked prosciutto.  Where to start?  The crust was perfection!  Not too thin, not soggy on the bottom, perfect char.  The meats were full of hearty flavor, the cheese had a clean, smooth taste and texture and the pasta sauce was so, so fresh!  I loved that the pizza was filling, yet light, savory and fresh.  What difference fresh ingredients make!

 

famoso neopolitan pizzeria
famoso neopolitan pizzeria

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Basil Mojito.  Limoncello liqueur, soda, fresh basil leaves and a lime wedge.  Refreshing!  Cool! 

famoso neopolitan pizzeria
famoso neopolitan pizzeria

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Panna Cotta.  With fresh blueberries and lemon zest.  Oh, the panna cotta was great!!  slippery sliding down the throat and the lemon zest brought that POP to the panna cotta canvas.  The blueberries were ripe and not too tart

 

  A wonderful way to start the weekend in Edmonton!

Leave a Reply

