Momofuku Noodle Bar – East Village

May 19th, 2011.  Momofuku Noodle Bar

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

  Meeting DLee for the first time for an evening of fun in the East Village!  We had discussed a few different options for dinner, but in the end came to a consensus to make first impressions over Japanese ramen.  I know.  2 in a row.  But hey, how can you not love Japanese comfort food?

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

  The restaurant is tucked away in a niche on 1st Avenue.  The full windowed front shows the never-ending crowd of people inside slurping away on their noodles.  It’s one of my favorite kinds of interior styles with the warm, slightly ruggedness with the brick and wood but with a clean, modern silhouettes.  Love it!

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

  D had the Full Sail Session Lager from Hood River, Oregon and I had the Lychee Soju Slushie.  The slushie was pretty yummy!  As soju can be it kind of flies under the radar.  Paired with the sweetness of lychee, this could be deadly!!  Luckily, I knew what I was getting into 😉

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

 

 

  Baos again!  I have a thing for them   These are the Pork/Shiitake Buns with hoisen sauce, cucumber and scallions.  Juicy pork with the earthiness of the shiitake mushrooms, sweetness of the hoisen, cool freshness of cucumber and the mild tang of scallions.  Great precursor

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

 

 

 

  I usually don’t over-order.  I know I have a smaller stomache so I try to stick with just enough instead of too much.  But with D’s staple “eff it”, we ended up with a second appetizer, the Kimchi Pork Tamale

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

 

 

 

 

  I found that it was slightly underseasoned and still prefer the bun, but it was still fun to eat!

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

 

 

  We both had the Momofuku Ramen: pork belly, pork shoulder and poached egg.  It’s totally different from my ramen experience at Ippudo.  The broth is clearer, but the deep richness comes from the fatty pork belly and shoulder, which were fall-apart-melt-in-your-mouth tender! 

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

 

 

 

 

  Add the creaminess of egg yolk and you’ve got a heavy bowl of soup.  I liked the lightness the asian cabbage lent to the soup.  Unfortunately, we over-estimated our stomaches..and couldn’t finish our meal….which was, by the way, AMAZING! 

momofuku noodle bar
momofuku noodle bar

  

 

 

 

  Momofuku lived up to expectations and I only hope that I’ll be able to visit all the other Momofuku establishments sometime in my lifetime

Leave a Reply

