Ippudo NY

December 3, 2011

May 12th, 2011.  Ippudo NY

ippudo ny

ippudo ny

 

  My next great eating adventure, Ippudo NY!  Just as much as the Japanese Ramen culture is booming in Vancouver, the Japanese Ramen culture had already taken root in NYC and Ippudo has been one of them that’s paved the way.  Located in the little Japanese district of East Village, this place is always jam packed!

ippudo ny

ippudo ny

   

 

 

 

 

 

  A refreshing glass of iced Oolong Tea.

ippudo ny

ippudo ny

 

 

 

 

  There’s nothing more soothing than hot broth with perfectly al dente noodles and tons of savory flavors.  I was all ready for what Ippudo would dish out for my first experience.  I’d read some reviews on Yelp beforehand and knew that I couldn’t miss out on their pork belly bao either   I was so glad to be sitting at the bar so I could have the perfect vantage point of the flurry of bao action going on!

ippudo ny

ippudo ny

 

 

 

  The famous Hirata Buns.  Soft steamed buns stuffed with lettuce, mayo, and deliciously juicy, tender pork belly with their original spicy bun sauce.  Oh, yes, I was licking my fingers.  I love bao!!

ippudo ny

ippudo ny

 

 

  After contemplating and asking the really friendly waiter’s opinion I finally decided on the Akamura Modernwith the additional egg.  Come on, ramen is not complete without egg!  The original “Tonkotsu” noodle soup topped with Ippudo’s secret “Umami Dama” paste (the red blob on top), pork chashu, cabbage, kikurage, scallions and fragrant garlic oil (the black stain in the soup).

ippudo ny

ippudo ny

  

 

 

  This was unlike any ramen I’d ever had before.  Heavy, rich, savory flavors, delicious combinations, and so SO comforting!  There was nothing not to love!  Ahh~~  my happy little tummy!

Leave a Reply

