Gyu-Kaku – East Village

November 8, 2011

 

March 31st, 2011. Gyu-Kaku – East Village

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

 

  Co-worker, Min Obba ALWAYS talks about Gyu-Kaku in the East Village so of course I had to check it out!  I love everything izakaya and had been craving it for so long…I needed my fix!  Plus I really wanted to go explore East Village..so this afternoon was a two-fer!

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

 

 

  I played it smart and went in during happy hour to ensure maximum value.  Hey, it never hurts   Oh, my camera died as soon as I stepped in…so i had to use my phone to take pictures…Sorry about the quality for this post

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

  Unfortunately, my camera died as soon as I walked into the restaurant..so I had to take pictures with my Samsung Galaxy S (Vibrant).  While the photos aren’t terrible there is noticeable difference in quality.  Not to mention the very dim lighting didn’t help..!

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

 

  Bistro Harami Hangar Steak:  Loved the marinade.  Sweet, savory goodness!  But I found the meat to be too small so it kept getting stuck on the grill…!

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

  Spicy Tuna Volcano.  I really wanted to like this..but it’s basically deep fried balls of rice with spicy tuna on top with some cute rice cracker dots.  The rice was just not good.  And these were too big to eat in one bite…I just didn’t like it…  

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

 

  Hot Oil Seared Salmon in Citrus Sauce.  I liked this one!  The citrus sauce gave a good balance to the rich flavor and texture of the salmon.  It was a fun dish~!  

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

 

  Kalbi Ramen: So my waiter recommended this one since I said I wanted something with soup…but I wasn’t really impressed.  It was over-salty and pretty greasy.  

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

 

  Is it bad that all throughout the meal dessert was what I was really looking forward to?  I just KNEW I had to get the S’mores.  I mean, come on…I love that ooey-gooey, chocolatey goodness on a graham cracker!  It was a challange actually getting it done, but once it was….. Mmmmm~~~ yummy!

 

gyu-kaku - east village

gyu-kaku - east village

 

 

  Service was excellent.  The waiter was super kind, explanatory, and was not afraid to give recommendations.  Considering I was eating alone I think I ate quite a lot!  I tried a good variety for a great price and left feeling very full and wanting a nap  ;D

Leave a Reply

