Colicchio & Sons – Chelsea

March 3rd, 2011. Dinner at Colicchio & Sons

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

If you know me and my TV viewing habits you’ll know that I love Top Chef on the Food Network. Not having cable is killing me because I can’t watch my favorite shows.  Anyways, ever since my summer trip to NYC last year and eating at Morimoto I’d been dying to experience Tom Colicchio’s restaurant.  This is the day I finally got to live out my food fantasy!

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

 

 

I’ll start by saying that the experience starts as soon as you walk in.  The atmosphere is very business chic with suits at every table but with extremely unpretentious service.  Basically it’s the friendliness and attentiveness of a local bar but in a very spacious and chic space with a bunch of business-people.

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

 

 

 

 

Oh, my God..the warm bread with a sprinkling of coarse salt that came in a little cast iron pan….and that fresh tasting butter…!!!

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

 

 

 

 

 

I got an Amuse Bouche..an Amuse Bouche!!  Jerusalem Artichoke Soup with White Crouton and Black Truffle Oil.  The crouton and a light lemony-minty-thyme-y-ness to it..it was a shot of comfort soup!!  I wanted to savor it so i sipped on it to my heart’s desire  😉

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

 

 

Entree: Roasted Duck, Gingerbread Polenta, Pomegranate and Black Garlic.  First off I’ll say that the duck was difficult to cut and accordingly required a wee bit more chewing power….apart from that the duck had great flavor and was tasty.  Oh, and guess what?  The dish came with..Pork Belly!!!  Yuuum!  Pork belly seems to be the new trend..every chef sneaks it into a menu.  Anyways, AGAIN the skin was hard to cut..and it seemed like the skin and the actual meat were like 2 seperate entities.  Not dazzled there.  What DID blow my mind was the Gingerbread Polenta.  It was delectably Christmasy & festive and was a wonderful sweet counterpart to the savoriness of the meats.  The pomegranate reduction was just the right amount of tart to keep evrything in balance.   I licked my plate clean 😉

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

Now even though I was as stuffed as a Thanksgiving turkey I fully intended to do more damage by ordering dessert.  I mean, they make their own sorbets and ice cream..how can I possibly pass this up??!!!  And with such amazing flavors as these, there was no way I was just gonna leave them!  I got a trio of sorbets: the Blood Orange, Perssimon & Sweet Milk.  Oh yes…come to mama…!  These sorbets were SOOOO DELISH! beautifully light, not too sweet, great natural flavors and so delicate to the palatte…I loved them!

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

Okay, THIS is the part that sets Colicchio & Sons above my bar of excellence: EXTRAS!!!!  GIFTS!!!!  BUNDLES OF JOY!!!  As my sorbets came out they also brought out this small plate of goodies, saying that these were being made special that night as complimentary gifts to each guest.  A drop of pound cake dropped in dark chocolate and then rolled around in coconut shreds and a creamsicle macaron!  *swoon*!  Of course I ate them up!

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

Now, I had been seriously hemming and hawing over whether I should order this extra special drink…the House Hot Chocolate with Creme Fraiche Whipped Cream & Jasmine Marshmallows..!  Just the name makes me all giddy inside…!  Anyways, after a very bloody inward debate I decided against it.  I was already so full….but…my lovely waiter brought it out to me anyways..ON THE HOUSE! Ah…really….this is pure love….they have bought my eternal loyalty…. *sigh*…..the velvety creaminess of the chocolate with the slightly tart creme fraiche and the lightly flavored airy marshmallows….it was all the menu promised and more ♥ ♥ ♥ Needless to say….I thought I’d died and gone to heaven ♥

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

 

 

 

 

As if they didn’t already have my vote, when I received my bill they also gave me this made-in-house coffee cake saying “this is for breakfast tomorrow morning *big warm smile*”.  Dear Lord………….can I just LIVE HERE??!  And let me tell you…the next day this cake came in so handy..and even then it was still moist, delicious and oh so wonderful with my morning Starbucks..!  LOVE!! ♥

 

 

 

 

colicchio & sons
colicchio & sons

Colicchio & Sons was a definite home run.  I only had minor complaints with the main course, but everything else made up for it.  Service is above and beyond and I wouldn’t think twice about coming back.  At the front the maitre’d helped me into my coat, asked me whether I was from the neighborhood and urged me to come back soon.  Oh, don’t worry: I’ll be back for sure!  From the time you first step in to the very last moment when you leave it’s just a pleasant, comfortable experience and the food is also excellent.  Love!!

Leave a Reply

