Pio Pio 8 – Midtown West

February 22nd, 2011.  Pio Pio Revisited

pio pio 8 - midtown west
pio pio 8 - midtown west

 

 

 

So~~~~ hungry!!  Aaron and I headed over to Pio Pio for some dinner.  Last time I was here I had only tried the ceviche and completely fell in love with the place. I knew I wanted to try other items from their menu so it was decided I’d do a revisit 

I said I can’t drink a lot of alcohol… so the bartender made me a special drink.

pio pio 8 - midtown west
pio pio 8 - midtown west

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Pisco Sour. The beauty is in the egg white foam on top…the whole drink is sooooooo creamy, slightly sweet and a delight to drink.

pio pio 8 - midtown west
pio pio 8 - midtown west

 

 

 

 

  Arroz Chaufa…Mmmmmmmmmmm fried rice goodness!
Apparantly there is a lot of Chinese influence in Peru because of the huge Chinese immigrant population there. This fried rice is proof that even in Peru, Chinese food is irresistable!  Perfectly cooked rice, perfect seasoning, and all the ingredients complimented each other.  Not bland at all.

pio pio 8 - midtown west
pio pio 8 - midtown west

 

 

It seems that Avocado Salad can be found just about anywhere here in New York.  This was nothing special, just an assortment of fresh vegetables, but the avocado was ripe and gave a wonderful creamy texture that brought everything together.

pio pio 8 - midtown west
pio pio 8 - midtown west

 

 

 

It was strongly recommended that I try the Lomo Saltado: tender beef sautee with onions, tomatoes in a soy sauce served with fries.  I didn’t really have high expectations for it…but Dear LORD!  It blew my mind!  Super tender beef, translucent sweet onions, and even the tomato was great.  We did end up eating nearly everything.  It was just that good!

 

 

 

 

Pio Pio definitely delivered again.  I love the place even more now!

Leave a Reply

