Franchia Vegan Cafe

January 8th, 2011.  Starting a New Life in NYC

franchia vegan cafe
franchia vegan cafe

 

 

 

 

Day 2 of NYC Life: I had an early morning getting into Midtown for a job interview with a successful Korean restauranteur.  The “interview” stretched out a lot longer than I expected as I was given a task as a sort of test.  As this was going on I realized I had left my phone in the cab I rode in on and there was nothing I could do about it!

franchia vegan cafe
franchia vegan cafe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Panic set in, but I got the task done and was on my way to meet with Ryoon Seok Samchon & Terri Sookmo at her restaurant, Franchia, a vegan cafe.

franchia vegan cafe
franchia vegan cafe

 

 

 

 

Franchia is such a warm and inviting place.  In contrast to the stately serenity of Hangawi, Franchia is more of a tea house.  Though it has the same quite demenor the general operation of the place is more casual.  I fell in love with the high ceilings, the breathtaking ceiling installments and the concept of a 3-tier balcony type layout.  Terri Sookmo really went to great lengths in thinking through the concept of the place.

 

–>Citron Paste Tea, you soothe my spirit… 🙂

Leave a Reply

