Chill Winston

December 17th, 2010. Chill Winston

chill winston
chill winston

 

 

  I completely and utterly fell for it.  I am SUCH a sucker….!!  Nabil emailed me from Edmonton saying that his dad scored tickets for some sort of Vancouver restaurant tour and that when he comes home on leave he gets to use them.  Knowing that my foible is that I can never turn down an invitation to fill my belly with delicious food, he used this as leverage to score an evening out with me….the rascal!!  It wasn’t until that very evening on our way downtown that I found out that the “tour” was all a sham….. OTL

 

chill winston
chill winston

 

 

  Well, all my pouting throughout our long drive downtown was in vain….because once we arrived I all I could think about was the fact that we wer going to eat lots of food!!!  Our first destination was Chill Winston in Gastown.  A hip joint on a corner of the cobblestoned street it’s a cross between a bar and a lounge.  It’s chill 😉

 

chill winston
chill winston

  Nabil was kind of peeved because he had specifically asked for a nice table at the time he booked the reservation saying that this was a special occassion…but the table we were given was neither special nor private and seemed more like an after thought.  I wasn’t complaining…but they didn’t really give him good customer service when he was trying to book the reso a few weeks earlier.  So that’s a demerit.

chill winston
chill winston

 

 

 

   I have to give it to them, though, their menu is cheeky and whimsical..I wanted to take one home with me!!

chill winston
chill winston

 

 

 

 

 

 

  With a name like Spooning Jesus how can you NOT order it?  Appleton VX Amber Rum+Soho Lychee Liqueur+Triple Sec Orange Liqueur+Fresh Lime.  I liked that it wasn’t extremely strong.  Of coursE, I’me sure that’s why many wouldn’t like it, though…hahaha!

chill winston
chill winston

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Arctic Char Gravlax: Ocean friendly arctic char cured and shaved thin, served with habanero creme fraiche, fresh dill and artisan crostini.  The arctic char was quite buttery.  I liked it, but I would have preferred the creme fraiche to have been a bit spicier to cut the buttery-ness of the fish.  Not breathtaking, but still a well done dish.  Loved the fresh dill!

chill winston
chill winston

 

 

 

 

  Nabil was parking as I was being sat, so I took the liberty of ordering him a beer.  Now I don’t drink beer, but I am pretty good at picking them 😉  I ordered him a Kronenbourg, wich he loved!!  Yay me 😉  Anyways, to go with the beer we ordered the Double Jack Poutine: Thick cut french fries, cheese curds, Monterey jack cheese, and a savory Jack Daniels gravy.  We agreed that the fries were good, but the sauce was too watery and needed more depth of flavor.

chill winston
chill winston

 

 

 

 

 

  Despite the slow service and just okay food we still considered it a good start to the evening.  The place had a good energy and I think it would be a great place to come for lunch on a sunny day  🙂

Leave a Reply

