baking with jenn – sweet potato cupcakes!

July 12, 2011

September 18th, 2010.  Sweet Potato Cupcakes

sweet potato cupcakes

sweet potato cupcakes

  Lately my mom had been on this sweet potato diet, so there were always sweet potatos sitting around in the kitchen.  Our Hebron College Group Welcome Dinner was scheduled for this evening and I wanted to make something for our young new members, so I decided to bake some cupcakes!

 

sweet potato cupcakes

sweet potato cupcakes

 

  I had originally been thinking to do mini vanilla cupcakes with sweet potato icing…until I realized that the icing on top would just be way to messy to transport, not to mention inconvenient since I wouldn’t be able to stack the cupcakes in the transportation vessel.  So after a few trial and errors I decided to do stuffed cupcakes.

 

sweet potato cupcakes

sweet potato cupcakes

 

  These turned out so well!!  The natural sweetness of the sweet potatos was great in the cake batter and as for the frosting I whipped up the sweet potato with some heavy cream and a secret ingredient really made the icing extra fluffy and yummy!

sweet potato cupcakes

sweet potato cupcakes

 

 

 

  There were none left at the end of the night, so that must mean that everyone liked my yummy little treats   Success!!

Leave a Reply

