Portage Bay Cafe – Seattle (University District)

September 11th, 2010. Brunch at Portage Bay Cafe (Seattle)

portage bay cafe
portage bay cafe
 
  Brent could no longer deny the itch and decided to drive up and do a Portland-Seattle trip.  I decided to take advantage of the fact and we planned to coordinate a full day of Seattle fun!  Seeing as I’ve been living in BC for 8 years and have never EVER actually explored Seattle, Brent felt that this travesty could not continue on and kindly volunteered to do an all day tour of every corner of the city!  Hence, I was waking up early on a precious Saturday morning and driving down across the border.

 

portage bay cafe
portage bay cafe

 

  After the Public Market we walked along the sidewalk and looked at the cute little shops and even stopped to pay homage to the first ever Starbucks.  Then we headed over to the pier to take a look at the view.  We were so lucky it was such a gorgeous day!  Perfect for sight-seeing!

 
 

 

portage bay cafe
portage bay cafe

 

  We were finally ready for some brunch, and Brent knew just the place to go!  We headed over to the University District for some eats.  Portage Bay Cafe serves organic breakfast, brunch and lunch fare.  It’s got an interesting layout in the sense that you walk in the door and it splits off and curves out into two areas.  I love the large windows all round the front of the restaurant, which allows for lots of natural lighting.  The wooden tables and chairs support the organic + green theme.  I also love that there is a waffle toppings bar  out in the open!  How wonderful!

 

 

portage bay cafe
portage bay cafe

 

 

  Once we were seated next to a wonderfully large window we started to peruse the menu.  We were both suddenly extremely famished and it didn’t help that all the choices on the menu looks so good!  I was really having a hard time choosing just one…!  I was finally able to opt for at least a drink to start with.  Seeing as I already drank coffee on the drive up I thoguht I’d mix it up and have something fresh, so I chose the Berry Lemonade.  It was great with a nice tang, without being sour.  It was a great way to freshen up my tastebuds for the really savory brunch I was about to order..!

 
 

 

portage bay cafe
portage bay cafe

  Being a Californian through and through, Brent not only loves eating organically and healthy, he is also a huge blueberry nut!  He decided to go for classic breakfast fare: Pancakes, Scrambled Eggs, Bacon & Hash Browns.  The Pancakes are made from Bluebird Farms farro heirloom wheat, organic yogurt, brown sugar and vanilla….so he could take advantage of piling on the berries from the toppings bar!  He also brought back some stuff to share with me too 😉  Awwww, thanks, Brent~~!

 

 

portage bay cafe
portage bay cafe

 

  Okay, okay, now I have to tell you about my most awesome brunch choice!!  Bacon & Sage Bread Pudding – House made, fresh baked Pepper Bacon and Organic Sage savory bread pudding served with smoked Gouda Cream Sauce topped with 2 eggs over easy.  This was..the bomb!!  I asked for my eggs to be a bit more cooked since I’m not a fan of gooey yolk.  I loved this bread pudding!  The bacon was full of flavor but not over-salty, the sage was a wonderful herby presence, and the gouda cream sauce was definitely took centre stage; I could definitely taste and smell the smokiness.  The whole creation totally hit the spot and was extremely filling!

 
 

 

portage bay cafe
portage bay cafe

 

 

  The menu at Portage Bay Cafe is diverse and creative and I must say, I was completely impressed with the execution!  Portion size was abundant and the flavors were bold and well married.  I absolutley loved the food and I loved the vibe!  Great place to have nice long brunch and chat with a great friend

 

Leave a Reply

