Hanako (Group Dinner)

September 10th, 2010. Hanako Group Dinner!  

Hanako Group Dinner
Hanako Group Dinner

 

 

  I had been so impressed with my first visit to Hanako that I had been telling some friends about it.  As soon as I said “Blue Fin Tuna in Surrey”, Mountain Biker was ALL over it!  Ballroom Au, also being a foodie, was interested.  So we built a group dinner around this notion of “great sushi in Surrey”!

Hanako Group Dinner
Hanako Group Dinner

  

We had a really great mix of friends show up for the dinner….unfortunately, not everyone was keen about the pricing!  Woops?  With A&W, Wendy’s, and AYCE sushi place and T&T just around the corner, I guess some were just not prepared.  We also had a few non-sushi eaters, so there was a bit of juggling with the menu.

 

hanako group dinner
hanako group dinner

 

  Radiologist got the Tuna Don: “What?  All I get is this small bowl??”  Yes…when you’re planning a wedding every expenditure is monitored with more scrutiny.  In this case…that expenditure was this bowl of rice & tuna..and poor Radiologist was not sure he’d leave with a full stomache! 

 
hanako group dinner
hanako group dinner

 

 

   Ballroom Au’s Chirashi Don: Love the amazing colors of the various ingredients and you can really see the freshness.  I mean, you can even tell just by the picture, the clarity and “bounciness” of the tako, there was even uni, and that unagi looks so~~ good!  Ballroom Au was pretty happy with this

hanako group dinner
hanako group dinner

 

 

 

 

  Girlfriend  and I shared a Soft Shell Crab, which many were kind of surprised about.  We had to explain that the shell really is soft and is okay to just eat!  My question is..how do they get it so soft??  Do they soak the crab in something that makes it this way? 

 

 

hanako group dinner
hanako group dinner

 

 

 

  Recently on an eggplant binge, I ordered this interesting dish.  It’s and eggplant halved, topped with a sweet miso sauce and then baked, I suppose.  The sauce lends a great new dimension of flavor!  Girlfriend dubbed it as “interesting”.  One half was enough for me 🙂

 

hanako group dinner
hanako group dinner

 

 

  I knew I wanted the Blue Fin Tuna at some point, so for my main I had the Salmon Combo: 2 salmon nigiri and sake maki.  Fresh & clean; what more can I ask for?  No complaints from me 🙂

hanako group dinner
hanako group dinner

 

 

 

   Long-Haired Bassist had the California Combo.  Upon seeing this small plate set before him he remarked…..”With how much this costs, I could have TWO meals at Wendy’s over there!”  Yes..Radiologist and Long-Haired Bassist are brothers…hehehe 😉

hanako group dinner
hanako group dinner

 

 

  And finally, the piece de resistance!  The long awaited Blue Fin Tuna!  Mountain Biker and I couldn’t leave without eating this!  At $8.50 per nigiri we were trying to hold in our anticipation as we waited…..!  As we bit into the generously sized, meaty tuna we closed our eyes and savored each chew…Mmmmmm!  It was fatty, flavorful, and unlike any tuna we’d ever had before!  We both felt that this was $8.50 well spent 😉 

 

  Despite personal preferences and tastes, we still managed to have a really fun dinner.  Mountain Biker and I happily paid $9.00 for one piece of Blue Fin Nigiri, Girlfriend and I shared a few yummy appies, Ballroom Au got the vibrant chirashi don, and I think our big group created a warm, fun atmosphere!  Dinner was another great affair…!  I smell many more to come~!

Leave a Reply

