Cobre – Nuevo Latin Cuisine

October 27, 2010

September 3rd, 2010. Cobre: Nuevo Latin Fusion  

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

 

 
  I’d been dreaming of coming to Cobre for a very long time.  I had heard rave reviews about the atmosphere as well as the food.  I salivated over other blog posts and vowed that one day I would finally go.

 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

 

 

  Of course, being me, I had looked through the menu prior to arriving.  In fact, I pretty much had the whole dinner already planned out!  It was just a matter of laying it out so my dinner companion would comply…!  In the end, no arm twisting was required..only tears that we couldn’t just eat everything on the menu! 

 
 

 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

 

 

 

 

  Mojito!  I love how it came with a stalk of sugar cane which I happily munched on   The mojito’s elements were individually discernible and it was refreshing. Private A encouraged me to choose some drinks for the night. 

 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   My drink of choice was their summer feature sparkling wine.  It was quite nice, but like all wines…too strong for me!  Oh well, it made me feel like a grown up 😉

 

 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

 

 

 

 

  Our first appetizer was the Cevice: Local albacore tuna y pipian rojo azteca warm Peruvian double smoked bacon. Nice big chunks of tuna were well matched with the rojo azteca.  But Oh. My. God,  the Peruvian double smoked bacon?  It was like freakin GOLD!!!  There was mutual agreement, though, that the tortilla chip in the middle was a bit too “mealy”.  But otherwise we loved this dish!! 

 

 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

  Our second appetizer was the Taqueria – Pulled duck and cracklin’y charred scallion, roasted garlic.  Let me invite you to first just contemplate the above combination.  Now: Oh. My. LORD!  Okay, I love tacos.  My friends know this.  This taco??  Made me want to make a public service announcement to the whole restaurant about how much I was loving it!  The tender natural “greasy-ness” of the duck. the roasted garlic taste spreading in my mouth and the seriously tasty crackly charred scallion!  The tastes melded together in a way that made each flavor not fight with each other and at the same time this taco was so comforting!  Mmmmm~~~!!!!! 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

  The main course we chose was the Maple Chipotle Tamarind Glazed Wild Boar Belly Chicharon y Patacones.  This was the most intensely flavorful, rich and decadent thing ever!  Super super SUPER tender wild boar belly, with a wonderfully sweet sweet SWEET Maple Chipotle Tamarind Glaze. Really, the dish description is exactly what it got and what was happening in my mouth can only be described as exquisite happyness!  (yes, with a “y”!!)

 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

 

 

 

  We rounded off the dinner with dessert.  Enter, the Tres Leche: A bottom layer of caramel-y leche, a fluffy mousse-y cloud like layer and then topped with whipped cream and a mini churro!  Just when I thought our meal couldn’t get any better out comes this wonderful dessert!!  Again..heavenly delight!!  I was smiling like a chesire cat the whole entire meal!

 

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

cobre nuevo latin cuisine

 

 

 

 

 

  Those blogs didn’t do Cobre justice!  There was not a single thing about the place that I didn’t love!  Everything from the space, the vibe, the amazing service, and the interesting menu..not to mention the perfectly executed and flavored food!  Everything about Cobre was like dream come true!  Oh!  And guess what?  A Vancouver Canucks player sat at the table right next to us with a girl!  I had no idea who he was, but Private A sure did.  He even engaged in some conversation!  Cool

Leave a Reply

