Hangawi – New York

July 31st, 2010. jenn hearts nyc: hangawi!

hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
 
  I was supposed to meet my long lost “uncles” for an early dinner in Koreatown, so after my lunch I walked around some more, eventually walking by Madison Square Garden as well as the first Macy’s in the process.  Hangawi is right in the heart of Koreatown amidst other Korean eateries and businesses all squeezed into an alley way.
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant

 Waiting for my uncles to arrive I snapped some photos and ordered a beverage.  I loved how the interior had very traditional decor as well as atmosphere.  It was actually quite a contrast to the modern, vegetarian interpretations on the menu.  The philosophy behind it is to have a spiritual experience while nourishing your body with healthy food.  Even just walking in to the space you get a sense of calm; like this is a retreat you come to in order to get away from all the business and stress.  I had read some amazing reviews online about this place and was really impressed by how ingeniously Hyung Gi Uncle had been able to focus on a very specific niche market.   

 
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant

   

I’m wary of vegetarian places because I’m a carnivore.  Without meat a meal just doesn’t seem like a meal, but I honestly have to say, I was blown away by the food at Hangawi.  They use ingredients that are organic and apparantly delivered from a farm that Uncle sources.  Again, I was completely impressed!

 

hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant

 

 

  I ordered an Iced Pomagranate Tea to cool off from all the walking.  The server brought out this leaf bowl with ice in it, set it on a polished stump that’s used as a side table and poured the tea into it, then set it in front of me.  How novel!

 
 
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant

 

Appetizer Green Pancakes.  Such a wonderfully light texture and taste!  Great way to start the meal!  Our other appetizer was the Sweet & Sour Crispy Mushrooms, which, unfortunately I forgot to take a photo of.  I don’t like mushrooms.  I LOVED that dish though!  Mmmm……pillowy mushroom texture on the inside, light crispiness on the outside and the delicious sauce!

hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant

 

 

  Pumpkin Noodle Salad?  Again, extremely fresh!  And really amazing flavors.  The pumpkin noodles are not only pretty for the color, but have a great texture and a sweetness to them, too.  It was dressed in a refreshing sauce.  I think I detected a hint of sesame oil in it?

hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant
hangawi korean vegetarian restaurant

 

Dessert was this magnificent martini glass full of goodies: Peach & Soy Ice Cream with Blueberries and Vegan Marshmallow Cookie!  Thinly sliced peach fanned the sides of the glass while a ball of soy ice cream rested on the bottom.  There were blueberries as well as an organic whipped cream (omg, so yummy!!).  The winner was most definitely the chocolate and cookie encrusted organic and vegan marshmallow!  Uncle was explaining how he’d been on a quest to create and find a truly organic marshmallow…and really, this one takes the cake.  A but firmer than regular ones, but it has it’s own unique taste while still being a marshmallow!  It’s genius!

 

  Dinner was pretty great!  I got to visit one of my uncles’ restaurants, and was treated to a seriously innovative and creative take on Korean vegetarian meals!

Leave a Reply

