Don Guacamoles

August 20, 2010

July 1st, 2010. Canada Day, 2010: Don Guacamoles  

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

    Am I allowed to say it?  Don Guacamoles was the highlight of my day…(don’t tell XLB!!)!!  I had wanted to try this place for sooooo long!  The place was packed!  But we waited hoping it would be worth it..and let me tell ya..it was!!  Sure the place is small, but it feels intimate.  You can watch the cooks carve the meat, the bartenders shake the drinks, and you gotta love the fact that the staff are all wonderfully hispanic!  Sexy 😉 

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

 

 

   They have a tiny patio out front and inside the restaurant is divided into two right down the middle.  On our side we had the carving station while on the opposite side there was a bar. 

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

 I actually don’t mind the fact that when the place is at full capacity we are nearly sitting elbow to elbow with the other patrons.  Makes it feel more intimate and authentic!  Oh, and they were cranking out latin techno dance music all evening 😉  That, coupled with the food makes you want to just get up and salsa!  Hahaha!

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

 

 

  While the menu is not overly expansive it did take a bit of time for me to work out the logistics and order appropriately.  I wanted to be able to try a variety of things without going too overboard that I wouldn’t be able to hav my dessert of churros or be too full to finish my meals!  While I was being indecisive Rachel ordered this very yummy looking margarita!  Look at that deep red shade!  Even just by looking at it you can tell that it’s made of real strawberries!

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

 

 

  As we were seated we were also brought these complimentary chips and dips.  The chips are not your standard type; they’re light & crunchy!  It came with some lime wedges, a super spicy chipotle hot sauce, some salsa verde, and your regular tomato salsa.  Loved that the sauces were so fresh and unique!  And when Don Guacamoles serves spicy..it’s actually spicy!  don’t you also love the serving vessles?  Who knew you could get all modern chic at a taqueria 😉

 

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

   As an appetizer I had the Pozole: Red based Broth with Hominy, Pork, Lettuce, Onions, Oregano and Chili. This was total comfort food!  I love soup, and this soup?  Reeeeally hit the spot!  I loved the flavor combination of the broth, the smokiness of the pork, the fresh aroma and taste of oregano, the onions, and of course the hominess of hominy and beans. It’s serious comfort food and I really enjoyed it since the weather was starting to get a little chilly at this point.  Yum!!

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

 

 

  Nabil had this massive Burrito!  I think this was the grilled steak one.  Topped with 3 types of sauces and stuffed with an amalgamation of tasty steak and other burrito fixin’s 🙂  He didn’t want to let on too much, but it was quite a challenge for him to finish it off!  He was so stuffed afterwards!

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

  I absolutely adore tacos!  Always has been one of my favorite foods in the world..and ever since Mexico I’ve had this perpetual greed and craving for good tacos!  It’s too bad that not everyone else feels the same way.  So I had 2 kinds: The Chorizo & The Arrachera (Flank Steak Marinated with Authentic Sauces).  I have to say….I was pleasantly surprised and yeah, I was totally licking the juices off my fingers!

don guacamoles

don guacamoles

 

  Last but not least were my Churros!!  How can I ever turn down Churros….???  These babies were definitely not the dried out puny type.  They were big, fluffy, and OMG look at all that sugar!  And sitting on white chocolate and caramel drizzle?  I think I died and went to heaven…!

 

  To sum it all up: Dinner was a total success!!  I finally got my Mexican fix after years of deprivation and I went with 2 great friends!  I love the place and it’s definitely one I must go back to! ♥

Leave a Reply

