Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

June 27th, 2010. Delish Japanese Ramen!!

hokkaido ramen santouka
hokkaido ramen santouka

  I know, I’m severely overdue for Japanese Ramen.  It seems that with the current Japanese Ramen following more seem to be taking root (whether authentic or not) and I knew I had to get in on this bandwagon while it was still a novelty!  Because the thing with crazes is that once it become a given it also starts to become a sell out. 

hokkaido ramen santouka
hokkaido ramen santouka

I felt like I hadn’t really been spending a lotof time with Kipum Unni and hardly was seeing her, so I invited her and Joohee to come out to with me to downtown Vancouver.  My original plan was to go to Kintaro, since it’s one of the original Japanese Ramen “bars” on Robson.  Joohee insisted that even Japanese fiends who’d been there told her it’s not all that authentic..so we went across the street to the newer Hokkaido Ramen Santouka instead.

hokkaido ramen santouka
hokkaido ramen santouka

 It’s just a few doors down from Guu and has a similar style with the low wooden tables and stumps as chairs and an open kitchen crammed into a small space but with a little more polish.  We were seated at a longish and winding wooden table aside others a la family style dining.  I was so extremely excited to order and get my meal!

hokkaido ramen santouka
hokkaido ramen santouka

Kipum Unni had the Kara Miso Ramen: Pork Seasoned Broth with Hot Spices and Miso.  She said it wasn’t really spicy, but still seemed to enjoy it.  I tried some of the soup while waiting for my bowl to arrive.  I agree that it really wasn’t spicy..but it was so flavorful that I was salivating for mine!

hokkaido ramen santouka
hokkaido ramen santouka

Joohee and I both got the Miso Ramen: Pork Broth Seasoned with Miso.  I don’t know about Joohee, but it was soooooo flavorful and deep!  The noodles were cooked just right, and the pork was melt-in-your-mouth tender! I was so very satisfied and so very full afterwards…I had to practically roll myself out the door!

Leave a Reply

