Guu Garden on Nelson

April 9th, 2010. At Guu Garden With Rae Teh!

guu garden
guu garden
 
  Rachel had really been wanting to try Guu Garden, the newest Guu location, so off we went!  In truth..I was still quite upset that I had failed to bring my camera a couple days ago when we had lunch at Guu Garlic with Liz, Yumi and Naomi…so this night I made sure that I came with a full battery to make up for it!
 

 

guu garden
guu garden

  I have to say…we were kind of lost trying to find the place…it’s in such an odd location!!  Rachel’s friend ended up giving up and going home while Rachel and I seperately circled round and around Nelson and Granville Street just trying to figure out where this place was!  I kept seeing the address but for the love of God could not figure out where the actual location was!  After a few calls to the restaurant I finally just parked in the vicinity and started walking around.  Finally I found Rachel and we also found the stairs leading up to the restaurant.  It doesn’t help that it’s on the 2nd floor of a building that’s under construction and fenced…who would have thought there’d be a restaurant in the midst of that!  They definitely need some sort of signage above the restaurant.  Well, we finally found it and made our way inside.

guu garden
guu garden

  Of all the Guu locations I’ve been to I think this one is the most relaxed.  By relaxed I mean muted.  And by muted, I mean in comparison to the other Guus 😉  The soft lighting, actual chairs as opposed to just benches, again, Guu takes their concept and gives it a slight twist.  And I absolutely love the handwritten menus they have!  Can I get that as a font, please? Hahaha!

guu garden
guu garden
 
 
 
 
 
  While we settled in and perused the menu we got started on some drinks.  After a long day of work and the stress of trying to find the place we needed one!  Rachel went for the “Grown Up’s Melon Soda Float”.  I remember it being quite yummy!  I had the Peach Ramune~!  I was super disappointed that they didn’t bring out the Ramune bottle for me to open!! What’s up with that??!

 

guu garden
guu garden

  The specialty of this location is the Oden, and in true Jenn fashion, I did some research prior to arrival and had a list of things that we should order!  First up was the house specialty, Oden!  I ordered the Mochi Tofu Bag in Kanto-Daki in Soy Based Soup.  This was a definite fail.  I love puffed tofu but this was just weird.  The mochi inside was all slimey and gooey and when the tofu was opened the gooiness just kinda spilled out into the soup unceremoniously.  It was quite awkward to eat and the mochi that spilled out was not pleasant and the taste and texture were just weird….

guu garden
guu garden
 The Pork Belly and Fried Tofu in Miso based soup, on the other hand, was so~~~ delicious!  I loooooove a good hunk of pork belly and this one was tender, juicy and extremely flavorful!  Mmmmm~ what Korean girl does NOT love pork belly?  Not I   The soup was sweet and super yummy, too!  The Fried Tofu was a bit dry is all I can remember.  And I thought it was strange that the soy-based soup looked like miso and the miso-based soup looked like soy….but hey, they insisted it was right, so who am I to complain?

 

guu garden
guu garden

  Next up was Tuna & Melon Granitee~!  Refreshing and fresh~!  The textures of melon and tuna with the ice on top was fun in my mouth!  The spicy kick from the jalapeno was somehow also refreshing!  It was a nice segue into our next course, which was the sashimi.

guu garden
guu garden

  5 Kinds of Butu-Sashimi! We got 2 pieces each of the Spot Prawn, Salmon, Scallop, Tuna (Fatty?), and what I think is..Yellowfin??  Isn’t the presentation adorable?  Like a little sashimi garden!  People don’t know this, but I can’t do a ton of raw fish at once…but when it’s fresh and clean on the palate I will totally go for it. 

guu garden
guu garden

  The fish were fresh, bouncy and yummy, even the scallop!  Beautiful sweet pieces of scallop. These easily can get fishy tasting, but I enjoyed the ones on our plate.  We were totally lucky that it was Spot Prawn season because these babies are truly a gem!  Sweet, fresh and delectable!  Love!

guu garden
guu garden

  Spot Prawn Sashimi!!! YESS!!!!!   I devoured my Spot Prawn with relish.  Yeah, the eyes freak me out a bit..but that didn’t deter me from getting into the meat in the head!  Yep, nothing goes to waste, here.  (It’s really hard to NOT make it sound dirty when I say I sucked the head….arg!!!)

guu garden
guu garden

   The best thing about Rachel is she never skimps on a meal!  We go full force ahead and always get dessert!  We had the Sake Cheesecake which came with a Chips Ahoy Cookie.  I didn’t taste the sake, and I’m not a fan of the papery-ness of a chips ahoy chocolate chip cookie…but that doesn’t mean the dessert wasn’t good!  It just wasn’t the highlight.  But hey, it’s always nice to wind down a meal with a dessert.

Rachel, another wonderful dinner with you~

Leave a Reply

