Cork & Fin (Gastown)

April 7, 2010

  February 25th, 2010. Cork & Fin
corknfin

cork & fin

Props to Lizzy!  She found out about this amazing little gem in Gastown a couple weeks before it opened and had both of us salivating and yearning to check it out!  She described it as ‘like Blue Water Cafe without the exorbitant price but not compromising the quality’.  Well, if there’s ever been a benefit to slaving away at that job, Liz, this is the reward; knowing about Cork & Fin before it opened, therefore getting to try it as soon as it opened!

corknfin

cork & fin

  We made it a girls’ night by inviting our friends, my kinda cousin Yumi and Liz’s longtime BFF Sam!  Being still in the midst of Olympic fervor had us even more excited, I think.  Yumi & I rendevouzed with Sam & Liz (and Quatchi!) this fateful evening to enjoy each others’ company and to test out this great establishment.  Of course, being the food enthusiasts we are, Liz and I had already pored over the menu prior to arrival!  That didn’t make it any easier to decided what to order..but at least I had it narrowed down!

 

cork & fin

 I have to say….amazing dining experience!!  We loved the ambience, the interior was modern but the brick walls made it cozy, we loved being able to see the fresh oysters and shellfish on display and being shucked before our very eyes and the staff was very attentive and friendly.  Everything about the place was so clean!  The food was fresh, delicious, and pretty and so, so, satisfying~! 

cork n fin

cork n fin

 
 
   
 
  Sam had the Cru Cocktail (sparkling wine, giotte cherry & orange bitters and said it was nice. 

Yumi went for a glass of Riesling while Liz decided to stick with Coffee.

cork n fin

new havana

 
 
 








I had the New Havana (new havana club anejo rum, cranberry & lime).  It was yum!

cork n fin

cork n fin

 











The bread was quite nice.  Soft on the inside and not too crusty on the outside 😉  The butter?  I think we all liked it.  At least we didn’t say no to it..!  We tried not to fill up on it too much..but we were so ravenous!

cork n fin

cork n fin

 

So, I don’t think any of us are huge oyster fans, especially of the raw variety…but seeing as this IS a fresh oyster bar Liz cajoled us into trying at least the baked ones.  Thus the Kilpatrick: Baked with Bacon, Butter and Lemon…..OMG my favorite combination!  And yeah…these oysters were KILLER!!!  I drool just at the thought of them…!  And..I think we ordered the half dozen, but I saw 8 😉

cork & fin

cork n fin

  

 

 



We also ordered the appetizer special of the night which was the Tuna and Scallop Tartare on Rice Crackers!  I think one with Yuzu and the other with Wasabi Vinaigrette marinade going on?  Liz is not a huge fan of anything raw…but I loved this!  So fresh and a very clean aftertaste!  The marinades were flavorful but not overpowering.

cork n fin

cork n fin

 

 



Yumi & I both ordered the Special Entree of the day: The Red Snapper in Tomato & Crab Veloute on Risotto!  Again, the very kind (and handsome!) head chef/oyster shucker came to our tabel and personally explained how it was cooked!  Wow…above and beyond what I asked for…but basically he explained that the Veloute started with a brandy & white wine base and then thickened with a roux.  Mmm…so yummy~! And I was so~~ full afterwards!

cork n fin

cork n fin

 



Liz knew right away that she wanted the Pan Roasted Game Hen: Half hen with Pan Gravy and Potatos.  Uh..is it weird that the first thing I said after taking a bite was “Woah~~~ that’s some good skin!!!”  Hahahahaha!

cork n fin

cork n fin

 



Samantha had the Pappardelle – Dungeness Crab, English Peas and Creme Fraiche.  First reaction: Wow, that pasta is so tender and you can tell it’s freshly made!!  I have to say…this may have been the point where I decided that my new favorite pasta aside from stuffed pasta and gnocchi is pappardelle!

cork n fin

cork n fin





The great thing about eating out with girls is that I can ALWAYS rely on a dessert course!  When you eat out with guys they couldn’t care less for dessert. Therefore when you ask whether they want to split one they say no.  Or are not really into it, so you either a) feel like a pig for wanting one..or three… or b) don’t want to inconvenience them by making them watch you devour more food at the guy’s expense!  Now don’t get me wrong..we were stuffed…but that didn’t stop us from getting one of each dessert on hand! If you know me, you know I love Creme Brulee.  This Creme Brulee with Cherry Brandy?  Divine!  Smooth custard and the caramelized sugar on top was just right.  The cherry brandy was the icing on the cake.  Sweet and yummy~!

cork n fin
cork n fin

 

 

 

 

 

  A decadent Dark Chocolate Mousse: The best part is that it wasn’t too bitter or too heavy.  I definite crowd pleaser, everyone loved it!!

cork n fin

cork n fin

 

 







This was my foodgasm of the night.  Our server couldn’t put a name to the dessert but he had me at “..and there’s only ONE SLICE LEFT.”  Wow, am I a sucker for THAT tagline..!   I dub this dessert Lemony Curd “Cake” with Flecks of Hazelnut and Puddle of Organic Honey.  Really, each component was so subtle but melded so well each other.  It was a veritable game of hide and seek in my mouth!  I would be tasting the hint of lemon and suddenly feel the crunch of hazelnut and then melt at the drops of honey…Mmmmm~!  It was like eating a dream…!

 

Another solid gold good time!  Happy tummies mean smiles and a good sleep!  Thanks ladies, let’s do this again soon!!    ♥

Leave a Reply

